Latest CD By Dr. Ralph Stanley. "A Mother's Prayer"

"A Mother's Prayer"

1. That Home Far Away Listen
2. It s Time To Wake Up
3. Come All Ye Tenderhearted Listen
4. Let Him Into Your Heart Listen
5. A Mother's Prayer Listen
6. Prince of Peace
7. Are You Washed In The Blood Listen
8. Lift Him Up, That s All Listen
9. He Suffered For My Reward Listen
10. Let It Go Listen
11. That Wonderful Place Listen
12. I ll Not Be Afraid Listen
13. John The Revelator Listen
14. What Kind of Man

Order Now

Ralph Stanley, the most towering figure in traditional Appalachian music, will release A Mother’s Prayer, a newly recorded collection of hymns and spirituals, April 19 on Rebel Records. Determined to find songs that rang true to him emotionally, the 84-year-old Stanley searched through the stark ballads and church music of his youth as well as newer compositions written in the ancient, unadorned Stanley style. Some of his choices he renders a cappella; in others, he is backed by his Grammy-winning band, the Clinch Mountain Boys. The sweep of songs here is breathtaking, ranging from such canonical pieces as “Are You Washed In The Blood,” “Come All Ye Tenderhearted,” “Lift Him Up, That’s All,” and “John The Revelator” to the bluegrass classic “What Kind Of Man,” which Stanley co-wrote with Larry Sparks, the man who took Carter Stanley’s place in the revered Stanley Brothers band after Carter died. Other notable songwriters and singers represented here include country artist Sara Evans, Billy and Terry Smith (the latter a founding member of the Grascals), Clinch Mountain Boys’ fiddler Dewey Brown and Stanley’s talented grandson, Nathan Stanley. Shawn Lane, of Blue Highway, and award-winning composer and vocalist Ronnie Bowman wrote the album’s title song. “The autumnal recordings of Ralph Stanley are among the last links to the fierce confrontationalism of true Appalachian music,” observes eminent music scholar Colin Escott in his liner notes for the album. “The music, like the people, stood square-jawed in the face of adversity. You can hear the pain in every ghostly trailing note and struggle in every barbed syllable.” This marks Stanley’s fortieth year of recording for Rebel Records. His first album for the label, the milestone Cry From the Cross (with a young Keith Whitley and Ricky Skaggs), was also a collection of sacred music.


 Click on each album below to Listen and Purchase through


The Very Best of Ralph Stanley  Man of Constant Sorrow  Saturday Night & Sunday Morning  Clinch Mountain Country  Clinch Mountain Gospel  Clinch Mountain Sweethearts

Old-Time Pickin': A Clawhammer Banjo Collection  First Time Together  Mountain Preacher's Child  I Feel Like Singing Today  Shine on  While the Ages Roll on


 Cry From the Cross  Classic Stanley  Great High Mountain  Ralph Stanley And The Clinch Mountain Boys: 1971-1973  Distant Land to Roam  Almost Home

Ralph Stanley  Poor Rambler  Great Gospel Performances  Classic Gospel  I'll Answer the Call  Over The Sunset Hill

Bound to Ride  Gospel Gathering  Classic Mountain Music  Short Life Of Trouble: Songs Of Grayson And Whitter  Live at McCabe's Guitar Shop, 2.11.01  Christmas Time with Ralph Stanley

Back to the Cross  Live in Japan  Classic Bluegrass  Can't You Hear the Mountians Calling  Live at the Smithsonian 2  Live at the Smithsonian

Ralph Stanley [Exclusive Edition] Ralph Stanley Live at McClure  Sunday Morning  Early Classics: The King Recordings  Essential Masters  Songs My Mother Taught Me & More

Pray for the Boys  My All & All  Saturday Night  Ralph Stanley   Great Bluegrass Performances  Echoes of the Stanley Brothers

First Time Together  Like Father Like Son  Sixteen Years